top of page

Sunita B Wheelan

Personal Blog

Welcome to my blog my beautiful gems!

 

Here you will find blogs ranging from beauty topics to lifestyle to personal stories. I really enjoy writing and I love the fact that with my website, I can write whatever I want to write! Therefore this is all me, what you read is what you get. I hope to be able to inspire you all and hopefully write something you can also relate too, whilst spreading as much positive vibes as I can! Don't forget to Subscribe for all upcoming blogs so you don't miss any! xoxo

  • Writer's pictureSunita B Wheelan

How to get into Modelling


Hi beautiful gems,


Do you have an interest in modelling? Are you looking to start but have no idea how to? Is the Industry new to you? Have you got little to none experience? Why am I writing like this is an advert?!


Recently there have been quite a few people who have private messaged me who are keen and want to start modelling but have no clue where to start. I have found time to message you all back with detailed advice based on how I started, but as I have been asked the same thing by quite a few of you I thought it would be easier to write this blog to help you, as I was also once in your shoes where I had no idea how to start.


I would just like to make one thing clear. I am not a professional model and this is not a full time job for me. I do it as a hobby when I have time for it, because I enjoy it and I love getting creative. So taking this on board, the advice I am about to give you is purely from my own experience.


PORTFOLIO: Whether you want to take modelling seriously or just as a hobby, you need to have a decent portfolio, (professional images are best) . When you do create photos you can either get them printed off and put them in a folder, so when you attend meetings with people you want to work with you have it ready. You don't have to do it this way however, you can use your Instagram as your portfolio.


TAKING YOUR OWN PHOTO: If you have no Industry contacts and no professional photos, that's alright. As long as you have one or two great, clear photos of yourself, (don't use snap chat selfies). I would advise to get a friend or family member to help you out by taking the photos of you instead of you doing a selfie. Remember you are doing this to help you get connections, not for a passport photo! So practice your posing techniques.


MODEL AGENCIES: After this you can try your luck and reach out to Modelling Agencies, (I didn't take this route). However, be careful as there are a lot of scams out there, and some real good sales agents who know how to sweet talk. If they tell you that you need to make a payment to join them, DO NOT DO IT! You should NEVER have to pay to join a model agency so if they ask you, it is a scam. If they provide you with a contract please check this with someone who has legal knowledge before signing anything! After they have proven themselves, there may be a legitimate cost such as the agency taking a cut from your profit which you would make from working with their clients. Remember, the agency doesn't pay models, their clients pay models. However, please do your research on this before taking this route, as I am not an expert on this option. I hope you find the below helpful.


COLLABORATIONS: This is the route I took. After much googling, I found a site called https://www.purpleport.com. This has been fantastic for me to find and connect with photographers and make up artists that are willing to collaborate. TFP (time for portfolio) & collaboration means to work together without charging or being charged and you are all able to share the photos produced freely in exchange for a tag when you upload it. It is free to join so you can sign up and create your profile.


YOUR PROFILE: Only upload your best images on here for others to see. When you create your profile try to make the description seem inviting to attract others. You don't need to write an essay but at the same time don't write two sentences. Remember you are trying to sell yourself. You do not have to have experience to sell yourself on there, you can tell people what kind of a person you are, why you want to model etc.


SAFETY COMES FIRST: When you do connect with others through messages and you have arranged to meet up, TAKE SOMEONE WITH YOU! I can't stress that enough. I am not saying it because the people on there are dangerous. It doesn't matter who you meet even if it is through a model agency, if you have never met them before please take someone with you. If you do end up going alone for whatever reason then please tell someone you trust exactly where you are going, as it is just better to be safe than sorry. When you have arranged a shoot date and time, turn up on time! Everyone is able to leave references on each other's portfolio and it is not going to look great if your references show you are always late. I'm afraid 'I love to be fashionably late' is not going to earn you brownie points.


EXPOSURE: Now that you have some good quality photos, get uploading! Upload them to your Instagram, Facebook and Purple Port. If your content is good you will attract followers. However, I would say utilise your social media as much as possible as this is your platform to expose your content. A few tips would be to upload regularly. I would say try to aim for once a week minimum. Make use of your Instagram stories. Use hashtags on your posts to reach wider audiences. The most important thing for me is do not ignore your followers. If you have people messaging you showing their support or asking for help, acknowledge or respond back and be yourself. It doesn't matter how many followers you end up having at the end of the day we are all human and no one is above each other. Yes you will get some people who are a bit sleazy, just tell them you're not interested or just don't respond.


THICK SKINNED: This Industry is a bitc** bitc* world. Be prepared to meet some as*holes. Be prepared to possibly get haters, the more exposure you get. Someone once told me, if you get haters, you are doing something right. People will judge regardless of what you do or don't do. So continue being yourself, do not let anyone change you and do not let anyone dim your sparkle. The media tends to show you that beauty is only in specific forms. That you need to look a certain way or be a certain size to be beautiful and meet the world's requirements.


Remember, in the end beauty fades from the outside, but it never fades from within. Be proud of who you are, no matter what colour, what size or what you think you may look like. Because I think you are beautiful, because your loved ones think you are beautiful, and because you need to believe you are beautiful.




''The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched - they must be felt with the heart.''




44 views
Home: Blog2

SUBSCRIBE!

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget
For any enquires, photoshoot bookings, PR, Collaborations, or if you just want a general chat, click on the chat icon on the bottom right 
Home: Contact
bottom of page